05 December 2020

Eeny Meeny


By M. J. Arlidge

My Review

I'd had this book sitting on my shelf for quite a while and decided it was high time I got it read. England's second Covid-19 lockdown in November 2020 provided the perfect opportunity. It was an excellent story and a very promising start to the series.

Detective Inspector Helen Grace is leading the search for a kidnapper who has a chilling modus operandi. People are being abducted in pairs. In order to win freedom, one must kill the other. It becomes a race against time to discover how the victims are chosen and find their location before starvation, or murder, are the only options.

Eeny Meeny was a fantastic read. With a fast-paced plot and believable characters it was exciting and gripping. The full horror of 'kill or die' stays with you throughout the book and long afterwards too. There are plenty of shocking moments and gruesome descriptions but they felt warranted and necessary. It was an intense read that I couldn't put down! I highly recommend it.          

Book Source: Purchased copy
My Rating ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Paperback: 448 pages
Publisher: Penguin; 1st edition (8th May 2014)

The Blurb

The girl emerged from the woods, barely alive. Her story was beyond belief. But it was true. Every dreadful word of it.

Days later, another desperate escapee is found - and a pattern is emerging. Pairs of victims are being abducted, imprisoned then faced with a terrible choice: kill or be killed.

Would you rather lose your life or lose your mind?

Detective Inspector Helen Grace has faced down her own demons on her rise to the top. As she leads the investigation to hunt down this unseen monster, she learns that it may be the survivors - living calling cards - who hold the key to the case.

And unless she succeeds, more innocents will die . . .

The Author

M. J. Arlidge has worked in television for the last twenty years, specializing in high-end drama production, including prime-time crime serials Silent Witness, Torn, The Little House and, most recently, the hit ITV show Innocent. In 2015 his audiobook exclusive Six Degrees of Assassination was a number-one bestseller.

His debut thriller, Eeny Meeny, was the UK's bestselling crime debut of 2014. It was followed by the bestselling Pop Goes the Weasel, The Doll's House, Liar Liar, Little Boy Blue, Hide and Seek and Love Me Not. Down to the Woods is the eighth DI Helen Grace thriller.

In 2019 he published a standalone thriller, A Gift for Dying.

Author Links:

No comments: